Cell Cycle

More Information »The cell cycle consists of a regulatory network of proteins that controls the order and timing of cellular proliferation events. It is divided into four stages, G1-S-G2-M. The G1 and G2 stages stands for 'GAP 1' and 'GAP 2' respectively. The S stage stands for 'Synthesis' and is the stage when DNA replication occurs. The M stage stands for 'mitosis', and is when nuclear and cytoplasmic division occurs, halving the genome.

Cell Cycle Target Files

The Cell Cycle

Taken from Cell Cycle, Cancer Research Product Guide Edition 3, 2015

Enlarge » Angiogenesis

Figure 1: At specific points in the cell cycle, DNA damage is detected and repaired. The process is initiated by the DNA damage sensors, ATM and ATR kinase. Checkpoint kinases Chk1 and Chk2 initiate signaling cascades that activate DNA damage checkpoints in G1 and G2. The spindle assembly checkpoint (SAC) delays anaphase of mitosis until all chromosomes are properly aligned on the spindle, preventing aneuploidy. Kinases including aurora kinase B (Aur B), PLK1 and Mps1 are implicated at various control points in the cell cycle.

Quick Order

Find multiple products by catalog number

divider line

Cancer Research Product Guide

Cancer Research Product Guide

Our Cancer Research Guide highlights over 750 products for cancer research. Request copy or view PDF today.

divider line

Cell Cycle Life Science Poster

Cell Cycle & DNA Damage Repair Life Science Poster

Our Cell Cycle & DNA Damage Repair poster summarizes the stages of the cell cycle and DNA repair. It also highlights strategies for enhancing replicative stress in cancer cells to force mitotic catastrophe and cell death. Request copy or view PDF today.

divider line

LinkedIn Updates

Follow Tocris on LinkedIn

Follow us on LinkedIn!

Visit our LinkedIn page for the latest Tocris news, events and updates.