Supporting information

Mitosis is a highly complex and regulated sequence of events that occurs exclusively in eukaryotic cells and produces two identical daughter cells from a single parent cell.

Mitosis is split into five phases:

  1. Prophase - Chromatin condenses to form chromosomes. Centrosomes begin to migrate to opposite poles of the cell.
  2. Prometaphase - The nuclear envelope breaks down and centrosomes are situated at opposite poles of the cell. Sister chromatids attach to the microtubule spindles.
  3. Metaphase - Chromosomes align along the equatorial plane.
  4. Anaphase - The sister chromatids separate and are pulled to opposite poles of the cell along the microtubule spindles.
  5. Telophase - A new nuclear envelope forms around each set of sister chromatids. The chromatids decondense to chromatin and mitotic spindles start to break down.

Cytokinesis is a separate process that follows mitosis in order to complete cell division. It involves cleavage of the cytoplasm due to contraction of actin microfilaments that form a ring around the equator of the cell. This results in the formation of two daughter cells, each identical to the parent, that enter interphase at G0.

View all products for Mitosis »

Literature for Mitosis

Cancer Research Product Guide

A collection of over 750 products for cancer research, the guide includes research tools for the study of:

  • Cancer Metabolism
  • Epigenetics in Cancer
  • Receptor Signaling
  • Cell Cycle and DNA Damage Repair
  • Angiogenesis
  • Invasion and Metastasis
Request copy | Download PDF | View all Product Guides & Listings
Cancer Research Product Guide

Quick Order

Find multiple products by catalog number

divider line

Cancer Research Product Guide

Cancer Research Product Guide

Our Cancer Research Guide highlights over 750 products for cancer research. Request copy or view PDF today.

divider line

Bio-Techne Events

One Day Symposium

Bio-Techne Symposium 2017

Epigenetic Regulation of Stem Cell Differentiation

March 1, 2017

Amsterdam, The Netherlands